Don’t ignore the data
It constantly shocks me how few sellers know their conversion rates
or sessions (visits). Don’t join them!
Equally: don’t drown in data either!
Make sure your “necktop computer” can absorb what your laptop is
Detail Page Sales & traffic report (Under “Reports>Business Reports” )
• Sessions: Is your product getting seen? If not, it’s time to drive
• Units ordered: Are you making sales? How many?
• Unit session percentage: = conversion rate. How well (as a
%age) is your listing converting visitors to buyers? If this is low,
it’s time to improve your offer (inc. price)
Profit and Loss
Don’t get buried in the numbers. Measure for a purpose
• The purpose of P & L is to help with decisions:
• Will you reorder this product?
• If so, how many units, what can you afford (cashflow)?
• Use software for Gross Profit!
• e.g. Manage by Stats, Fetcher, HelloProfit
Amazon Ad Spend
• If you’re launching, expect to spend a LOT initially. That’s fine IF
you’re gaining keyword ranking for valuable keywords as a result.
• Overall picture by campaign: Monitor for either really good
(profitable) or really bad (expensive) results.
Measure Keyword by keyword for manual campaigns:
• Look for sales – are you driving sales and ranking?
• Next look for clicks – are you telling the algorithm to rank your
• Check CTR (Click-Through Rate). Over 0.7% is good for ranking.
Get the Overall ad spend by-product:
• Take the ad-spend on a product for a period.
• Check your overall sales (Business reports) for the same period.
• Calculate your ad-to-sales ratio (ATS). If it’s high in launch
period, that’s fine. After launch, aim for about 10% overall.
• Mostly ignore ACoS unless it’s super high (over 100%). It’s a red
Welcome back to Amazing FBA! Today I’ll be talking to Mike Zagare of PPC entourage. Mike was a physical therapist in a former life. He’d started a physical therapy practice when he was about 25 years old, and it failed miserably. A coach suggested that Mike stop spinning his wheels in PT, he found Amazon FBA in 2015, began using Amazon pay per click ads in 2016, realised that there was a vacuum in the market for an Amazon Ads optimisation tool, and created PPC Entourage. The rest is history.
In today’s interview, we will continue our discussion with Dana. Tune in to see what he had to say about upselling to your customers and using different strategies to teach us how to sell products online.
For our other interview or access to a webinar Dana present, please visit http://amazingfba.com/dana.
An amazing offer would be discounting your product by 50% because most sellers are only just discounting 5 or maybe 10%. Where 50% off is definitely is a big deal to most customers and they will love you for it. Especially if you can show that it is actually selling at that price on Amazon. Getting 50% off would be the best way to create an awesome offer.
You should give the customer a coupon inside with the package. When they get to Amazon and get to the right link they will find the product is at full price. To make sure the customer uses their coupon you would charge full price. Then at purchase when they use their coupon that would basically unlock the 50% off making the product cheaper.
You come out ahead when you sell at a discounted price because you don’t have the fee that you would at full price, and most importantly you get a customer off of Amazon. The thing to remember is getting customers off of Amazon is value in and of itself. As far as percentages go your range should be between 5 to 20%.
The thing that is most exciting is once you get your backend build up really well, and you can take customers off of Amazon. Suddenly you don’t have to try and make your money solely off of Amazon.
Another tactic to making big money is to take an existing product and lower your prices that way you can get more people coming through your door, and potentially making a purchase. Combining this tactic with offering coupons is the best way of getting more eyeballs on your product. You’ll get more buys and outsmart your competitors.
Physical products businesses are cool. Some of the people don’t talk about how much money they require to grow and scale them. because every time you sell out of inventory you need twice as much the next time. The best thing to do is to inject product services into what you’re already selling. One of the things you could do on the front end would be to inject informational products like a how-to.
The next step is to become an affiliate for some of the products people are buying from you. The thinking of most people is that their next dollar only comes from launching their next product. But it is much more important to build it up from front-end to back-end first. Once you have done that just rinse and repeat which is much more important than injecting a new product.
A great book to read on this principle is written by Perry Marshall on how to sell products online. You’ll find the that 80% of your revenues come from 20% of your fulfillment. So, when you get higher up offers you’re actually spending less time and money, but you making more doing it. Any listeners out there that do not already have these high ticket offers you’re really missing out on your best customers.
Dana has sold numerous copies of his book at $2,500 because the contents of the book are so valuable. Inside his book, he shows how he’s able to sell most of his books for a whopping $200,000 and even up to $400,000 per copy when other people are selling their book for only $20.00.
He goes through the entire process of how to sell products online and making huge profits in the digital product world. The exciting part is that he is giving away a free copy to all the listeners at his own expense completely free. Stay tuned to get your free copy! Limited time only!
Dana’s first go for the Mastermind was a couple months ago which was unbelievable and a really special event. Because it went so well the first time it will be happening again February 2018. This will be a live event. He will be personally working one-on-one with people, but he will also be having other people flying in to share with the community as well. It’s different than most masterminds because it’s at his house and there are only 20 spots available.
Goats will be involved. Doors are now open and several spots have already been taken so don’t wait too long to reserve your spot before February 2018. It is very simple to apply just by going to http://goatfarmmastermind.com. You can check out the success stories over there and if it’s something you’re interested in doing, you can sign up.
For our other interview or access to a webinar Dana present, please visit http://amazingfba.com/dana.
We have, once again, Brian Johnson of PPC Scope and Sponsored Products Academy on the show. After we released the previous episodes I got so many questions that I had to get Brian back on. We’re going to do a Q&A session right now to address questions sent in from the listeners. Continue reading
It is important for any business to measure its profit and loss as this helps in determining the direction of the business. It helps in understanding if the business is headed in the right direction or if there are changes that need to be implemented. Continue reading
Today we have Brian Johnson of Sponsored Product Academy (& PPC Scope) to talk to us about PPC and the REAL reason for the end of Amazon incentivized reviews.
This is a guy that has been in ecommerce industry for years. He started out selling banking equipment on eBay for seven years before a friend pulled him into Amazon. He began launching his own private label products. This was about three years ago when Amazing Selling Machine launched.
Today we are continuing with our giving-up list. What are you going to give up in 2017? Before you start doing something, you need to stop doing something else. You must free up your time, money, and mental focus. Today we will be discussing sponsored ads, or Amazon ads. Amazon calls them sponsored ads. Broadly speaking, they are one of a few ways you can that drive traffic that is moderately guaranteed to work.
If you have a product with terrible conversion rates and a decent amount of reviews and that’s not shifting over time, and you’re driving traffic with pay-per-click, then you have a problem with your product or listing. But if you have decent sales and the conversion rate isn’t terrible, not below 10%, then what is going to determine your profit will be the balance between the sales price and the cost of goods sold. A big percentage of that is your Amazon ads.
If you increase your price you could negatively affect your sales, however, if you reduce your cost, by reducing money spent on Amazon ads, then you will increase your profit while maintaining your sales. Which is obviously a big win for you.
It is very important to use negative keywords if you’re using auto-campaign. I always suggest using auto-campaign to start with because you can gather a lot of data and tune the algorithm to your listing. But after a while (say 1-2 weeks usually) you shouldn’t be spending a large bid-per-click on that.
Go through your search term report, and anything you’re spending a lot of money on, that doesn’t bring you sales, is something you want to put in negative keywords fairly soon.
How soon? Well, if you are really serious about your products, you have signs of good success on your hands, and deep pockets, you might want to run a loss on that campaign for a rather long time in order to gather data.
If you have 50 clicks on a keyword and no sales, that pretty certain that it’s not working. You’ll want to make sure that’s a negative match keyword. However, to get 50 clicks, you likely spent a lot of money and you might want to have a cutoff at 5, 10, or 20 clicks.
The next thing you want to look at is the keywords that are making sales. These are probably going to be a small percentage of all the keywords you’re using. Over time, you’ll start gathering your long-tail keywords, but starting out, it’ll likely be around 10-15. That all depends on how much you’re willing to spend before you make sales.
Unless you want to be really harsh, after two to three weeks you’ll have your 10-15 keywords that are making you sales. You’ll want to look at those and reduce the bids on those which are costing you too high of advertising cost of sales.
One caveat, don’t allow advertising costs of sales to be your main guiding point. When you launching products, you’ll be raising your prices over time. For example, if you’re spending $10 on advertising on a product you’re selling for $10. That’s 100% ACoS (Advertising Cost of Sales). Over time, you might raise the price to $15 which change that ACoS dramatically. So I wouldn’t recommend using that as a metric. It can be misleading until you land at a stable price.
What I would recommend looking at is the overall spend on advertising divided by the overall sales. A very simple, robust metric that you should monitor weekly at least.
This isn’t something Amazon will give you because they want you to spend money on advertising.
It’s very simple to calculate. Get the same time period for both; you can get your advertising costs from the seller central “Advertising” tab, and you add up how much you spent. Then you go back to your business reports, and add up the sales you made in the same exact period period. Then just take your advertising costs and divide them by your sales.
The main thing is that it’s not about the advertising cost of sales, it about profit. If my profit margin on an item, before advertising, is $3, then I can spend $3 on advertising before it becomes a loss.
Another thing to consider, is that, if you have a decent selling product, you may be willing to run at 100% ACoS. That is, you’re running a loss on those sales from ads. You will still rank organically because of the ads, and you can make your money from organic sales.
I wouldn’t recommend it if you’re not being aggressive and really looking to grow your sales volume. I prefer to keep my ACoS where it is break-even. Let’s say I am selling a widget for $10, and my total cost before Amazon ads, including Amazon fees and fulfillment costs etc, is $7. That means, before ads, my profit margin is $3. I would not want to spend more than $3 per sale averaged over all my ads. That means that all sales gained via Amazon Ads are at breakeven or better, and that all organic sales represent profit.
I know this is complicated and it’s not really meant to be an instruction guide for pay-per-click ads. If it’s the sort of thing you need help with and you want to get in touch with me, I do offer a one-off call with you through Clarity FM. It’s $2/minute so it’s an expensive way of working with me. You’d be better off joining my mentorship program if you want ongoing help. Although I’m pretty strict about who I work with, I do have room for one or two more people. If you’re interested, still apply, and don’t assume I won’t work with you. Just read the guidelines and FAQs first though.
Another, inexpensive, way to work with me, as well of several others, is to become a part of the mastermind group. The London mastermind is in full swing and we’ve had meetups with about 6-10 people, which is perfect. We have dates set from January to June if you’re interested in working with me and up to 10 other people.
One last word on pay-per-click, I am trying out some software called PPC Entourage which they claim will help you manage your pay-per-click very quickly and easily. I haven’t had a chance to really dive into it but I will give it a test run and report back to you. If you want to try it, you can get a copy at http://ppcentourage.com/.
Need more personalised input on issues like this? Live in the UK in or near the South-East? You might want to consider joining us for monthly meetings where we can thrash out all the issues like this one for YOUR business. Check it out here.